County Board


Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • The current Chair of the County Board is Commissioner:  Jared Gapinski
  • The current Vice-Chair or the County Board is Commissioner: Ed Popp
Benton County Commissioners Group Picture

Front Row, Left to Right: Beth Schlangen, Ed Popp
Back Row, Left to Right:  Scott Johnson, Steve Heinen, Jared Gapinski

Who's My Commissioner? (enter your address to find the County Commissioner representing your area)

Scott Johnson, District 1

Picture of Commissioner Scott Johnson

Ed Popp, District 2

Picture of Commissioner Ed Popp

Steve Heinen, District 3

Picture of Commissioner Steve Heinen

Jared J. Gapinski, District 4

Picture of Commissioner Jared Gapinski

Beth Schlangen, District 5

Picture of Commissioner Beth Schlangen

About the Board

Board members are elected to serve four year, staggered terms and represent separate geographic districts. County Commissioners oversee county activities and work to ensure that citizen concerns are met, federal and state requirements are fulfilled, and county operations run smoothly.

County commissioners work to provide services to people and communities while overseeing the cost of such services. They attend regular meetings of the county board as well as meetings of county board subcommittees and county-related boards and commissions. County commissioners also work with constituents and respond to constituent concerns. They are responsible for establishing a budget and levying taxes to finance County services, authorizing expenditures, making land-use decisions, and managing County roads, buildings and property. Board members also bring the County's concerns before state and federal lawmakers and interact with other local boards, such as city councils and township boards.

The five-member County Board serves as the chief legislative and policymaking body of the county. The powers of the Board are outlined in Minnesota Statutes.

Barrier Free

All County Board meeting are open to the public and accessible to the handicapped. Attempts will be made to accommodate any other individual need for special services. Please contact the Administrator's Office 320-968-5001, no later than two (2) hours prior to the meeting so necessary arrangements can be made.